A trio of triolets

The first two I wrote as twitter poems. I wondered about adding some punctuation but decided in the end I preferred them without. There is no prize for identifying the subject of three.

One

Open the door
The fire burns bright
Excrucior
Open the door
Flames rush and roar
Such fierce delight
Open the door
The fire burns bright

Two

The moon is dark
Hiding the stain
That telltale mark
The moon is dark
From bloody sark
Red falls the rain
The moon is dark
Hiding the stain

Three: En ma Fin gît mon Commencement

In my end is my beginning
The cloth of state declares above her head.
She plays (but a scarlet thread is spinning…
…In my end is my beginning)
For a crown she has no hope of winning
The game laid out by those who want her dead.
In my end is my beginning
The cloth of state declares above her head.

This entry was posted in triolet, twitter poems, verse and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A trio of triolets

  1. W.R.Gingell says:

    You have such an elegant and visceral way with words, while still being effective! I’m always reminded of the first time I read The Highwayman when I read your poems; that dark, moody thing with splashes of crimson. I wasn’t quite sure what I was reading, but I loved it.

Leave a Reply

