Villanelle III: A rose, a king, an apple tree

I’m supposed to be editing a novel but I’m easily distracted from this task. This evening I started playing around with one of the songs from After the Ruin and ended up turning it into a villanelle. Why? Well, why not? Even though it’s of no practical purpose, doing so amused me, and that seems as good a reason as any.

A rose, a king, an apple tree

These are three sights I fain would see
Before I lay me down to rest:
A rose, a king, an apple tree;

Three sights to set my caged heart free
As lark ascending from her nest.
These are three sights I fain would see.

The king beneath the flowering tree
The reddest rose pinned at his breast:
A rose, a king, an apple tree –

Then all that might have been could be
And I go easy to my rest.
These are three sights I fain would see,

But might have been will never be
’Til sun arises in the west.
A rose, a king, an apple tree –

I shall not find these wonders three
And hope is but a foolish jest.
These are three sights I fain would see,
A rose, a king, an apple tree.

This entry was posted in After the Ruin, Harriet Goodchild author, verse, villanelle and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Villanelle III: A rose, a king, an apple tree

  1. Lovely. As usual. And very clever.

Leave a Reply

